I’ve just started reading this book, and I think it’s going to be great, so I decided to share parts of it with you readers as I go through the book.

So, to begin with:

“Getting well or overcoming illness doesn’t necessarily mean cure and it doesn’t mean living forever. Nor does it mean a list of dos and don’ts, pills to take and foods to avoid. It means improving our condition and gradually making our lives happier, healthier and more fulfilling.”

That’s what personally, I’ve always been aiming to do. I know I’m ill, I’ve known it for long before it was officially diagnosed as POTS on 9th April. Some things you just feel, when you are sensitive and in tune with your body. But I’ve also known that I have a strong determined spirit, and whilst the trials and tribulations of illness can certainly dent it at times, I vow it will not be broken! I’ve always determined to do whatever I can do to live my life to the fullest I can, despite having dysautonomia.

So, right from the first couple of pages I thought- yes, I like this book!

I also liked this:

“Unlike some other self-care books, this one doesn’t say we make ourselves sick or think ourselves well. It doesn’t say “Take control of your life” while glossing over the difficulties involved. It doesn’t even say “Follow your Doctors orders” Instead, it gives a practical, 5 step program for recovery.

1. Slow down: save some energy for your body and your life, instead of giving every last ounce to work, worry, other demands or entertainment.

2. Make a change: Change something in your life that’s damaging. No matter how small, any successful change builds self confidence and makes the next change easier.

3. Get help. None of us can do it alone; life is a co-operative effort. Learn to find and ask for help.

4. Value your body and your life: Listen to your body and treat it with respect. Fill your life with more pleasure, love and reasons to live.

5. Grow up: Educate yourself, take responsibility, be assertive. Accept yourself the way you are, but don’t give up on getting better.

Sounds good to me. I’m looking forward to reading the rest and sharing it with you readers. But for now, I’m going to start using the program, and do steps 1 and 4, by listening to what my body is telling me and having a nap. I’ve felt exhausted all day and been stubbornly trying to just keep going just because “I’m supposed to”. Well, says who? Sometimes I am too hard on myself, even after all these years. There’s no shame in needing a nap and it might just refresh me and help me have a better evening. So, much as the book has interested me, I’m going to pay attention to my body and take that nap right now. 🙂

